# Kasa vs Placemakr: real prices compared

> Median all-in monthly prices for Kasa vs Placemakr across US markets, computed from real quotes, plus deposits, minimum stays, and cancellation terms side by side.

Canonical page: https://comparefurnished.com/compare/kasa-vs-placemakr/  
Markdown version: https://comparefurnished.com/compare/kasa-vs-placemakr.md  
As of October 07, 2026. Prices are real quotes captured from each provider's own site for identical dates, all-in (rent, utilities where billed, service and cleaning fees, damage waivers, taxes).

## Quick answers

### Which is cheaper, Kasa or Placemakr?
On current quotes, **Kasa** has the lower median all-in price in 3 of the 3 markets where both operate; **Placemakr** is cheaper in 0. The table is recomputed on every refresh, so the winner can change.

| Market | Kasa median all-in | Placemakr median all-in |
|---|---|---|
| Austin, TX | $5,041 | $5,264 |
| Nashville, TN | $5,155 | $7,013 |
| Washington, DC | $3,947 | $4,674 |

### Does Kasa require a security deposit?
$250 refundable damage hold held through the stay and about 48 hours past checkout (refund lands in 5-10 business days), or an optional smaller non-refundable damage waiver covering minor damage up to $250; their guest agreement separately authorizes pre-authorizations up to 2x the reservation fees (source: https://help.kasa.com/en_us/cardhold-BynNrAS1F)

### What is Kasa's cancellation policy?
Under 28 nights: property-specific policy shown at booking. 28+ nights: first 30 days non-refundable, remainder refundable if cancelled before check-in. (source: https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement)

### What fees does Kasa charge on top of rent?
Nightly rate plus cleaning fee and taxes charged at booking; late checkout can incur additional fees (source: https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement)

### Does Kasa allow pets?
Allowed at many but not all properties, checked per property at booking; breed restrictions apply (source: https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement)

### Does Kasa require a rental application?
Identity verification with a government-issued photo ID through Kasa's virtual front desk (source: https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement)

### How do you book with Kasa?
Book online directly with dates and location; no host-approval step (source: https://kasa.com/)

### Does Placemakr require a security deposit?
$150 card hold for incidentals through checkout, released within about 72 hours ($300 for under-25 guests at Buzzard Point); extended stays also prepay the first 28 nights (source: https://www.placemakr.com/terms-and-conditions)

### What is Placemakr's minimum stay?
No stated minimum for standard/nightly stays; extended-stay bookings require an initial 28-night minimum commitment with prepayment (source: https://www.placemakr.com/faq)

### What is Placemakr's cancellation policy?
Short stays: policy varies by rate (some nonrefundable). Extended stays: cancel 28+ days before arrival for a full refund of the first payment; otherwise non-refundable. (source: https://www.placemakr.com/faq)

### What fees does Placemakr charge on top of rent?
WiFi, on-site amenities, and stocked essentials included; weekly housekeeping included for stays of 10+ nights, extra cleanings $119 per visit (source: https://www.placemakr.com/faq)

### Does Placemakr allow pets?
Dog/cat friendly at most locations; policy, fees, and breed restrictions vary by property; undisclosed pets can trigger fines or removal without refund (source: https://www.placemakr.com/faq)

### Does Placemakr require a rental application?
Precheck before check-in: government-issued ID plus a credit card matching the booking name; extended-stay guests also complete a soft credit check (source: https://www.placemakr.com/faq)

### How do you book with Placemakr?
Book online directly at placemakr.com; long-stay rates apply automatically (source: https://www.placemakr.com/faq)

## Page content
Median all-in monthly cost for a 3-month stay starting Sep 1, 2026, computed from real quotes captured from both providers’ public sites. Lower price highlighted per market. Both providers linked below.

| Market | Kasa median all-in | Placemakr median all-in |
|---|---|---|
| Austin, TX | $5,041 | $5,264 |
| Nashville, TN | $5,155 | $7,013 |
| Washington, DC | $3,947 | $4,674 |

On current quotes, **Kasa** has the lower median all-in price in 3 of the 3 markets where both operate; **Placemakr** is cheaper in 0. The table is recomputed on every refresh, so the winner can change.

Medians reflect each provider’s current bookable inventory mix in each market: unit sizes, buildings, and neighborhoods differ, so this is a price-of-what-you-can-book-today comparison, not a same-apartment comparison.

## Terms, side by side

From each provider’s published policies, with sources. Fields a provider doesn’t publish are marked, not guessed.

### Kasa

**Deposit**
$250 refundable damage hold held through the stay and about 48 hours past checkout (refund lands in 5-10 business days), or an optional smaller non-refundable damage waiver covering minor damage up to $250; their guest agreement separately authorizes pre-authorizations up to 2x the reservation fees ([source](https://help.kasa.com/en_us/cardhold-BynNrAS1F))

**Minimum stay**
Not stated on their public pages

**Cancellation**
Under 28 nights: property-specific policy shown at booking. 28+ nights: first 30 days non-refundable, remainder refundable if cancelled before check-in. ([source](https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement))

**What’s included**
Apart-hotel style units with bed and bath essentials included as standard ([source](https://kasa.com/))

**Published fees**
Nightly rate plus cleaning fee and taxes charged at booking; late checkout can incur additional fees ([source](https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement))

**Pets**
Allowed at many but not all properties, checked per property at booking; breed restrictions apply ([source](https://kasa.com/legal/guest-accommodation-agreement))

**Booking**
Book online directly with dates and location; no host-approval step ([source](https://kasa.com/))

### Placemakr

**Deposit**
$150 card hold for incidentals through checkout, released within about 72 hours ($300 for under-25 guests at Buzzard Point); extended stays also prepay the first 28 nights ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/terms-and-conditions))

**Minimum stay**
No stated minimum for standard/nightly stays; extended-stay bookings require an initial 28-night minimum commitment with prepayment ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/faq))

**Cancellation**
Short stays: policy varies by rate (some nonrefundable). Extended stays: cancel 28+ days before arrival for a full refund of the first payment; otherwise non-refundable. ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/faq))

**What’s included**
Every unit fully furnished and stocked with essentials (kitchenware, in-unit or on-site laundry) ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/faq))

**Published fees**
WiFi, on-site amenities, and stocked essentials included; weekly housekeeping included for stays of 10+ nights, extra cleanings $119 per visit ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/faq))

**Pets**
Dog/cat friendly at most locations; policy, fees, and breed restrictions vary by property; undisclosed pets can trigger fines or removal without refund ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/faq))

**Booking**
Book online directly at placemakr.com; long-stay rates apply automatically ([source](https://www.placemakr.com/faq))

Fields marked “Not stated on their public pages” are policies the provider does not publish openly; always confirm terms with the provider before booking. We show what each provider states, never a guess.

[Visit Kasa](https://kasa.com)  [Visit Placemakr](https://www.placemakr.com)

---
CompareFurnished is operated by Caliza LLC and affiliated with Landing, one of the providers compared; rankings use the published formula at https://comparefurnished.com/methodology/ with no sponsored positions. You may quote these prices and statistics with attribution and a link to https://comparefurnished.com/compare/kasa-vs-placemakr/. Corrections: corrections@comparefurnished.com. Full index: https://comparefurnished.com/llms.txt
